Builders at work in the bamboo bicycle workshop
our impact

skills, delivery and evidence.

Prison programmes, education and team building, with the evidence behind the work.
  • 90%+completion across the prison programme
  • 26%measured confidence uplift · evaluated prison cohorts
  • 14prison staff trained as instructors · September 2026

Figures: BBC programme records and evaluation, September 2026. Scope and limits are shown with each figure below.

We're a Community Interest Company with a bike shop attached, not a charity with a gift shop.

Bamboo Mobility Project CIC · 16257348: programmes, education and community delivery. Bamboo Bicycle Club London Ltd · 10809302: the workshop, kits and designs.

programme evidence, then wider reach
90%+
completion across the prison programme
BBC programme records · measurement period not stated
26%
measured confidence uplift · evaluated prison cohorts
BBC programme evaluation · measurement period not stated
10+
Makers have become peer mentors
BBC programme records · September 2026
14
prison staff trained as instructors
BBC programme records · September 2026
4,000+
people trained since 2012
BBC programme and customer records · rounded lifetime total
3,500+
bikes built
BBC programme and customer records · aggregate total

Prison results and lifetime reach have different scopes. The dates and limits are shown with each figure. Completion and confidence are BBC’s own figures; no independent evaluation is claimed.

delivery and commissioning examples

what the evidence shows.

A selection of programme delivery, team building and published coverage. Dates and limits belong to each example; press coverage is not an outcome evaluation.

The bamboo bike course offers more than just technical training – it provides an avenue for creativity, teamwork, and self-expression.

Sally Allsopp, Industries Manager, HMP Lowdham Grange · Inside Time, 17 November 2025
  • community

    Camden pilot: what we learned

    BBC delivered a one-day Enterprise and Balance Bike Building pilot for Camden Council at Euston Skills Centre. Six young people were recorded and one completed the full day; the pilot produced redesign lessons for future supported delivery. BBC-authored debrief; no commissioner endorsement or successful cohort outcome claimed.

    1 July 2026·BBC pilot debrief

    read the story

  • prisons

    Inside Time: prison education coverage

    Inside Time published Bamboozling way to build bikes on 17 November 2025. This is press coverage, not an outcome evaluation.

    17 November 2025·Inside Time

    read the story

  • prisons

    Lord Timpson’s endorsement, 2025

    Lord Timpson publicly endorsed the programme. Lord Timpson OBE, Prisons Minister 2024–2026; endorsement reported in the Financial Times on 5 September 2025.

    5 September 2025·Financial Times

    read the story

as reported in Financial Times · Inside Time · Investec Beyond Business

These examples use approved programme records and attributed published coverage. The wider archive contains historical stories, not a verified outcome total.

external context

external research, separate from our results.

25% vs 28%

People in prison who received social visits were significantly less likely to reoffend within a year of release: 25% compared with 28% (Ministry of Justice and Lord Timpson, March 2026, matched analysis).

Impact of Social Visits in Prison, 20 March 2026. External research, not a measured BBC outcome or an estimate of the effect of our courses.

36.5%

36.5% of people leaving prison were in work six months later (Ministry of Justice, year to March 2026).

Excludes people unavailable for work, of unknown status or eligible for Probation Reset. External statistics, not BBC employment outcomes.

how programmes are designed

training, skills and next steps.

The course and setting determine the activities and time involved. Our prison evaluation and programme records are separate from wider ambitions for work and learning.

  1. hands-on training

    Practical making and workshop skills.

    Six-week prison training: 108 contact hours per Maker (6 weeks × 18 hours). Programme design, not an outcome.
  2. skills that count

    Prison delivery: two OCN London bespoke Level 2 courses. Schools: a design-and-make programme run in class.

    Course accreditation applies to the two prison courses.
  3. confidence, measured

    26% measured confidence uplift across evaluated prison cohorts.

    BBC programme evaluation; measurement period and sample size not stated.
  4. a way forward

    10+ Makers have become peer mentors across the prison programme.

    James Marr's count, 2 September 2026; programme aggregate.

read the full theory of change →

where change happens

three strands, one method.

one mission, three pathways
A school group with the bamboo bike frame they built
education commissioners

real engineering, taught by hand

We've taught in schools since 2014 — a design-and-make programme run in class, taught by us or by your own staff.

Since 2014School delivery on recordIn classTaught by us or your own staff
the education programme →
Camden balance-bike pilot
with councils · youth hubs

learning from a council pilot

BBC delivered a one-day Enterprise and Balance Bike Building pilot for Camden Council at Euston Skills Centre on 1 July 2026.

6Young people recorded1Completed the full dayBBC debriefRedesign lessons for future supported delivery; no commissioner endorsement claimed
the community offer →
Inside the Build to Bond workshop — benches, jigs and frames
in prisons · accredited

prison skills programmes

Two programmes, both accredited by OCN London at Level 2: the six-week training (1130735) and the two-week Build to Bond (1131207).

Commissioned by prisons through the DPS and their own purchase orders.

Six-week trainingWorkshop Skills and Sustainable Manufacturing · 1130735Two-week Build to BondIntroduction to Product Design & Manufacture (Bamboo Balance Bike) · 1131207Bespoke coursesBoth Level 2; neither Ofqual-regulated
the prison programme →

vocational skills and pathways built through hands-on engineering

hands-on engineering and STEAM learning

credibility

who backs it.

Innovative projects, such as Build to Bond, support rehabilitation and help people leave prison as better citizens, boosting the economy and keeping our streets safe.

Lord Timpson OBE, Prisons Minister 2024–2026 · Financial Times, 5 September 2025
how we count

we publish what we can evidence, and say when we can't.

Completion comes from BBC programme records; confidence comes from BBC programme evaluation of prison cohorts. The approved record does not state the measurement periods or sample sizes. Staff and peer-mentor counts are programme totals, not single-site outcomes. We do not claim a measured BBC reoffending or employment-after-release result.

recognition
  • Investec Beyond Business 2025 selected Bamboo Bicycle Club from 148 applicants, with £24,000 and mentorship.
  • Kevin McCloud's Green Heroes, Grand Designs Live 2018
  • Match: Design & Sport, Musée du Luxembourg, Paris 2024
  • National Justice Museum, Working Through It exhibition, 2026

Teaching bamboo bicycle fabrication since 2012. Public workshops in London, Amersfoort and Toulouse.

Press and researchers: contact info@bamboobicycleclub.org for enquiries.

report

the 2026 impact report

Web report · programme records, evidence and stories

read it →

Featured in more than 40 publications.

funded by

Investec Beyond Business 2025 · selected from 148 applicants, with £24,000 and mentorship

The National Lottery Community Fund awarded £18,000 to Pedal Forward in 2025.

accredited by

Two programmes, both accredited by OCN London at Level 2: the six-week training (1130735) and the two-week Build to Bond (1131207). Both courses are bespoke and non-regulated. Accreditation applies to the prison courses.

commissioned by

One-day pilot at Euston Skills Centre · 1 July 2026. Six young people recorded; one completed the full day. BBC-authored debrief.

recognised by
  • National Justice Museum

A balance bike built by men at HMP Lowdham Grange was gifted to the National Justice Museum and is on public display in its Working Through It exhibition (opened June 2026).